The Slide Brothers: Robert Randolph Presents the Slide Brothers Review

Robert Randolph Presents the Slide Brothers is the debut album from the Slide Brothers. This album features the greatest living steel guitar players including Calvin Cooke, Chick Campbell, Darick Campbell, and Aubrey Ghent. The sacred steel tradition originated in the 1930s. It was used to imitate singing to inspire the congregation in church. The instrument has since been fused into other genres.

Robert Randolph set out to use his own success as a player to show the world the masters of the instrument. With this album, his mission has truly been a success. Randolph makes appearances on the album along with Marcus Randolph on drums, Danyel Morgan on bass, and Jason Crosby on keys.

The album kicks off with the Slide Brothers’ own rendition of “Don’t Keep Me Wonderin,’” originally performed by the Allman Brothers. The high energy performance on this song combined with the players absolutely shredding on the steel guitar is a great way to introduce listeners to their playing. They cover several other classic and traditional tunes with their own spin, infusing blues, rock, and funk. These songs include a fantastic instrumental version of “Wade in the Water,” “Praise You,” featuring a strong vocal from Shemekia Copeland, and “The Sky Is Crying” amongst many others.

Unfamiliar with the steel guitar? A steel guitar fanatic? This album is a must for both new listeners and old.

The Review: 9/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’
– Wade in the Water
– Praise You
– The Sky is Crying

The Big Hit

– Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’

Review by Liz Lohnes

2 thoughts on “The Slide Brothers: Robert Randolph Presents the Slide Brothers Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender