The Hoax: Big City Blues Review

The humble shores of Great Britain may not be the first place that springs to mind when thinking of legends within the blues genre, however it certainly offers up some musical delights every so often. The latest being the album Big City Blues by rejuvenated ensemble, The Hoax. The band splintered and went their respective ways over 10 years ago, but after a fiery reunion in 2010, a series of blistering gigs and a collection of fan funds they returned to the studio.

“Hipslicker” is the first track off the compilation. It’s good to know The Hoax are still on form and have not lost their edge. The fuzzy guitar rhythm and croaky vocals make a catchy tune. There is plenty of zest on the album, tracks like “Big City Blues” and “Keep On Messin’” are full of heel tapping fun.

As well as the hard-hitting tunes the band demonstrate their ability to dull the pace and produce something more sensual, whilst keeping that intensity. “Two Steps Back” does just that. Another song of mention should be “Tes Nuits Insolits” and the French flavored melodies that give the album a bit of variety.

The Hoax have done what the fans hoped for. They have produced a well-trimmed, punchy record that proves there is blues rock alive and kicking in the UK. A solid performance.

The Review: 8/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– Hipslicker
– Big City Blues
– Let It Shine
– Two Steps Back
– Keep On Messin’
– Tes Nuits Insolits

The Big Hit

– Hipslicker

Review by George Ward

Buy the album: Amazon | iTunes

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

3 Responses to “The Hoax: Big City Blues Review”

  1. Dino says:

    deserves more than 8/10.

  2. Nick Foot says:

    Great album,and the new songs are blistering when delivered live…esp Two Steps Back, Let It Shine and the aforementioned Hipslicker. If you missed them on the current tour, they are back in December…don’t make the same mistake twice.

  3. Jim says:

    Not your normal cup of Hoax tea. Strange brew of songs, listen for example to “Tes Nuits Insolits”. What the F* is this? Certainly not of the quality they use to make. As a long tome fan I am disappointed. Such good musicians must be able to come with something better. I think this time its a real hoax.

Leave a Reply

Bulk Email Sender