Aaron Williams And The Hoodoo: 10:49 Review

10:49 is the sophomore release from Aaron Williams And The Hoodoo. The Hoodoo consist of Eric Shackelford on drums, “Z” on bass, and Aaron Williams on guitar. While Williams fronts the band and is the main vocalist, each member takes turn singing lead vocals, which is a refreshing twist.

The album kicks off with “Boom Boom,” a track that displays Williams’ slide prowess that is prevalent all over the album, including the title track. “10:49” is dedicated to Williams’ late father,  “Cadillac” Joe Anderson. The song is a bluesy duet featuring Williams playing slide and Ken Olufs on harmonica as they share vocals together. Another standout track is “My Turn,” which opens with some Hammond organ and works its way into Williams’ sublime guitar licks.

10:49 is a fantastic blues rock album from a very promising band. Aaron Williams And The Hoodoo are as authentic as it gets. The album does a great job of capturing their live sound, and they should be expected to make plenty of noise on the blues scene in the coming years.

The Review: 8.5/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– My Turn
– Red Head Women
– 10:49
– It Is What It Is
– Let Me Love You

The Big Hit

– My Turn


Review by Pete Francis

3 thoughts on “Aaron Williams And The Hoodoo: 10:49 Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender