Samantha Fish announces “Kill Or Be Kind”

Genre-bending guitarist, singer, and songwriter Samantha Fish will release Kill Or Be Kind on Friday 30th August 2019 via Rounder Records. A two-song single from the album featuring “Watch It Die” and “Love Letters” was released on Friday 3rd May.

“Watch It Die” reveals Fish’s prodigious gifts as a commanding vocalist and her sublime guitar technique, while the smouldering “Love Letters”, is a fiery lament about love gone wrong that slowly builds to a searing bridge and solo.

Fish’s incendiary live performances have been mesmerizing audiences all over the globe. Now, with Kill Or Be Kind, Fish is poised for a major breakthrough. The edgy roots music album was recorded at Royal Studios in Memphis and produced by three-time Grammy winner Scott Billington and mixed by two-time Grammy winner Steve Reynolds. Boasting 11 original songs ranging from the electric cigar box stomp of “Bulletproof” to the sweet Memphis R&B of “Trying Not To Fall in Love With You,” the album is sure to establish Fish as a potent force in roots music.

The Kansas City-born-and-bred musician flirts with tradition but pushes genre boundaries to create a sound that’s distinctly her own: “She Don’t Live Here Anymore,” co-written by Parker Millsap, features a Memphis soul underpinning with a sustained vibrato guitar sound that edges toward country. “Love Your Lies” persuasively straddles punk, rockabilly, and soul; while “You Got It Bad (Better Than You Ever Had)” is a classic blues rocker, thick with layered guitars and a cigar box solo. She shows off her range with the sweetly wistful “Dream Girl” and the cathartic, blues-saturated “Farewell My Fair Weather.”

SAMANTHA FISH – MAY 2019 UK TOUR

SPECIAL GUEST: CURSE OF LONO
TICKETS: www.alttickets.com/samantha-fish-tickets

Sage 2, Gateshead Tuesday 7 May
The Stables, Milton Keynes Wednesday 8 May
Voodoo Rooms, Edinburgh Thursday 9 May SOLD OUT
Oran Mor, Glasgow Friday 10 May SOLD OUT
O2 Academy 2, Birmingham Saturday 11 May
Thekla, Bristol Sunday 12 May SOLD OUT
Junction, Cambridge Monday 13 May
Band on the Wall, Manchester Tuesday 14 May SOLD OUT
The Garage, London Thursday 16 May
The Haunt, Brighton Friday 17 May
O2 Academy 2, Oxford Saturday 18 May
The Brook, Southampton Sunday 19 May
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Bulk Email Sender