The Micronite Filters: The Wrong Side of the Tracks EP Review

New Canadian bluesy rockers The Micronite Filters just released their 4-song EP called The Wrong Side of the Tracks featuring vocals by Joan Smith of the Toronto band Little Foot Long Foot. The Micronite Filters are Abel Renton on guitar, assorted, vocals; Dan Reiff on drums, percussion, vocals; Myke Pulito on bass, vocals; Bruce Mackinnon on keys, trombone, and other magical sounds.

Early in 2012, The Micronite Filters began work on the 4-song EP that would capture the best of this new sound – heavy and sometimes psyched-out hill country blues. “Hit the Hammer on the Nail” is certainly the EPs breakout hit putting all members’ talents together hitting the hammer on the nail.

The group recently returned from a trip down to Oxford, MS to record with Mississippi hillbilly Jimbo Mathus (the Squirrel Nut Zippers, James Mathus and his Knockdown Society, Jimbo and the Tri-state Coalition). The band hopes to return to the US for a tour when the new album is done.

The Wrong Side of the Tracks was released in June and is now available online, through iTunes, and at shows.

The Review: 7/10

The Big Hit

– Hit the Hammer on the Nail

Review by Paul Kalis

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Bulk Email Sender