Dan Patlansky: Movin’ On Review

Over the past decade-plus, South African guitarist Dan Patlansky has been one of the most consistent performers in blues rock. His 2014 album, Dear Silence Thieves, was voted Blues Rock Review’s #1 album of 2014. 2016’s Introvertigo also landed Patlansky the top spot on Blues Rock Review’s annual list. Most recently, Patlansky released Shelter of Bones in 2022, which finished #2 in Blues Rock Review’s Top 20 Albums of 2022.

Patlansky is an elite guitarist but one of the things that separates Dan from many other blues rock artists is his songwriting ability. When world class guitar playing meets strong songwriting you have a winning combination which Patlansky delivers. Now Patlansky is back with 2024’s Movin’ On which Dan co-produced with Andy Maritz. Greg Van Kerkhof also assisted with songwriting.

Patlansky has made it no secret that Stevie Ray Vaughan has been a massive influence on him. Dan opens the album with “Red Velvet Suit,” an upbeat Texas styled rocker. Next up is one of the album’s top moments, “Who I Am” which is quintessential Dan Patlansky. The song is the perfect example of world class guitar playing meeting top-tier songwriting. Patlansky describes the song as “Rediscovering who I am as an artist and human being.” “Humbled” features more scorching guitar and is about the life of a touring musician.

The album changes pace with the reflective title track about pushing through tough times. Another album highlight. Dan turns up the energy with the blues shuffle of “On My Way.” “One With Fire” continues Movin On’s theme of turning the page. “Baby’s Packin Heat” is a blues number that Patlansky wrote tongue in cheek about winning a woman over.

“Welcome In” sees Patlansky head into a more mellow Americana direction with a bit of country flavor which he does very well. The groovy “Free Wheelin” is next and Movin’ On concludes with the fiery instrumental “Lift Off.”

On Movin’ On, Dan Patlansky continues to demonstrate his prowess as both a guitarist and a songwriter. With each track, Patlansky’s influences and personal experiences shine through. Few artists in blues rock bring the total package like Patlansky.

The Review: 9/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– Who I Am
– Movin’ On
– Humbled
– Lift Off

The Big Hit

– Who I Am

Pete Francis

Pete Francis is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Blues Rock Review. Pete founded Blues Rock Review in 2010 because he felt there was a major void in how the blues rock genre was covered. Pete is the host of Blues Rock Weekly and a co-host on the Blues Rock Show.

2 thoughts on “Dan Patlansky: Movin’ On Review

  • Rock not blues !
    The blues is JLH and Muddy etc
    Good rock tunes in themselves but not blues .

  • Agree completely on Dan’s songwriting prowess. He’s a rare bird who can rip up the strings on a Strat and also write meaningful tunes. I must say instrumentals from him REALLY get my ticker going.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender