Erja Lyytinen announces “Diamonds on the Road – Live 2023”

Guitarist Erja Lyytinen will release Diamonds On The Road – Live 2023 on Tuohi Records on October 6th.

About the album, Lyytinen said, “When playing live, you’ve got one moment to get it right, and then the moment is gone. There is no correcting stuff later. It is very raw and exciting to play and sing at the same time. The adrenaline runs through your body, and everything around you affects your performance.”

Lyytinen added, “Diamonds on the Road was recorded towards the end of our Spring tour in March 2023. We played ten shows in a row, of which eight were sold out. The band had a good flow going, and the songs were rolling nicely. Compared to our previous live recording Lockdown Live, which was filmed and recorded as a streaming gig without an actual audience during the first two months of the pandemic in 2020, this was quite different with an interactive crowd,” reflects Erja. “The show took place at Rytmikorjaamo, Seinäjoki, in the Western part of Finland. On the night of the recording, people were enjoying the live performance, cheering to the solos, dancing, and having a good time together next to each other.”

The album features a combo of originals and covers.

“For the set list of the live album, we had a mixture of my favourite old songs and then a selection of the songs from my latest studio album, Waiting for The Daylight,” says Erja. “We also recorded a Jimi Hendrix classic, Crosstown Traffic. I made my own version of it by playing the song using slide! It is so cool to play the song, and, on the recording, it is our first encore.” 

Lyytinen has released a performance video for the first single, “You Talk Dirty.”

You Talk Dirty was originally released for the first time 20 years ago on my first recording,” says Erja.”It is my favourite live track. I get to play loud guitar, using my Whammy up and down a whole step-up in the most critical places, to create this heavy doom effect. My guitar playing has gotten heavier since Lockdown Live,” she says.


CD 1
1.   Diamonds On The Road 4:48
2.   Rocking Chair 4:00
3.   Bad Seed 5:26
4.   Black Ocean 7:13
5.   Waiting For The Daylight 6:40
6.   Väinämöinen Tuonelassa 5:42
7.   Last Girl 5:42
8.   Never Really Had You 6:32

CD 2
1.   You Talk Dirty  6:49
2.   Lover´s Novels 5:13
3.   Wedding Day 11:35
4.   Crosstown Traffic 4:26
5.   The End Of Music 10:54

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender