Songs of Summer 2021

The summer of 2021 has special meaning for musicians. Last summer, bands weren’t able to tour. This summer, the music is back and once again, bands are hitting the road.

Here are Blues Rock Review’s songs of summer for 2021.

The Damn Truth – “This Is Who We Are Now”

Canadian rockers The Damn Truth have been around for a while but are having a breakout year in 2021. “This Is Who We Are Now” appeared on the Blues Rock Review Album Sampler Volume 12 and shows why the band lives up to their name, they are the damn truth.

Mike Zito – “I’ll Make Love To You”

Mike Zito continues to stay busy releasing another album this summer, Resurrection. Zito’s first single off the album is a cover of JJ Cale’s “I’ll Make Love To You,” the perfect track for a summer drive.

Ellis Mano Band – “Keep It Simple”

“Keep It Simple” is the standout track from the Ellis Mano Band’s 2021 release, Ambedo. A beautiful track explaining why sometimes less is more.

Christone “Kingfish” Ingram – “662”

Christone “Kingfish” Ingram is set to release his highly anticipated sophomore album on July 23. “662” is the first single from the album and a driving blues rock track paying tribute to Kingfish’s home area code. Kingfish recently spoke to Blues Rock Review about the new album making an appearance on the Blues Rock Show.

Caleb Johnson – “I Just Want To Celebrate”

Caleb Johnson released his cover of Rare Earth’s “I Just Want To Celebrate” at the perfect time. With bands finally back on tour this summer there is plenty of reason to celebrate. Tyler Bryant and Jason Bonham join Johnson on this powerful rendition of a timeless classic.

Robert Jon and the Wreck – “Shine A Light On Me Brother”

“Shine A Light On Me Brother” is the title track from Robert Jon and the Wreck’s upcoming album available this September. A head nodding rock and roll soul explosion that is a great dance along summer track.

Quinn Sullivan – “In A World Without You”

Quinn Sullivan was a child guitar prodigy but is showing his maturation on his new album, Wide Awake. “In A World Without You” is one of the highlights and showcases Sullivan’s development as a songwriter in addition to his impressive guitar chops. Sullivan spoke about the new album and the track on the Blues Rock Show.

Steve Marriner – “How High”

Former MonkeyJunk frontman Steve Marriner made his solo debut this summer with the release of Hope Dies Last. The Canadian might be one of the most underrated artists on the modern blues rock scene. “How High” is a high octane summer rocker.

Dirty Honey – “California Dreamin”

Dirty Honey could be the next big thing in rock. Nothing says summer like Dirty Honey’s “California Dreamin” off the band’s debut album.

Zach Person – “Can’t Stop Running”

Austin based young gun Zach Person brings a fresh sound to the blues with “Can’t Stop Running,” a catchy track that should help bring more attention to the 24-year-old. The track is featured on Person’s debut album.

Ariel Posen – “Did You See It Coming”

Guitar wizard Ariel Posen continues his rise with the release of Headway in 2021. “Did You See It Coming” features a bit of twang and showcases Posen’s guitar skills and songwriting prowess.

Arielle – “Peace Of Mind”

Featured on the Blues Rock Review Album Sampler Volume 12, “Peace of Mind” is a track that screams summer. It features warm, bright guitar, and is perfect for a summer cruise.

Shemekia Copeland and Kenny Wayne Shepherd – “Hit ‘Em Back”

Featuring two powerhouses of the blues rock world, Shemekia Copeland and Kenny Wayne Shepherd “Hit ‘Em Back” joining together for a message of unity and standing against divisiveness. A rousing blues rock anthem for the summer. Shepherd recently discussed the track with Blues Rock Review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender