Richie Kotzen: Salting Earth Review

Richie Kotzen returns on April 14th with his 21st studio album, Salting Earth. Kotzen has to be one of the most prolific artists out there today. In 2015, Kotzen not only released the solo album, Cannibals, he was also was involved with The Winery Dogs’ sophomore effort, Hot Streak.

Salting Earth kicks off with “End Of Earth,” which features an extensive solo to close out the track showcasing Kotzen’s impressive guitar prowess. Things get heavy on the appropriately titled “Thunder” before Richie changes the pace on “Divine Power.” “I’ve Got You” could be a potential single with its catchy chorus where Kotzen sings, “Everybody knows I’m not a lucky man, but I’ve got you who loves me.” “My Rock” continues on the same theme about unconditional love. Next up is “This Is Life,” which is a song about contemplation.

The pace picks back up on the soaring “Make It Easy,” which is another track with a catchy chorus. Kotzen gets funky on “Meds” and then soulful on “Cannonball” before wrapping things up with the stripped down “Grammy.”

Salting Earth is another solid collection of songs to add to the Kotzen catalog. Few artists continue to put out new music as often as Kotzen and not only is Kotzen continuing to put out new music, but he keeps doing it at a high level. Salting Earth has a little something for everyone.

The Review: 8/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– End Of Earth
– Thunder
– I’ve Got You
– Make It Easy

The Big Hit

– I’ve Got You

Review by Pete Francis

Buy the album: Amazon | Amazon UK

Pete Francis

Pete Francis is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Blues Rock Review. Pete launched Blues Rock Review full-time in 2011 because he felt there was a major void in how the blues rock genre was covered. Pete is the host of Blues Rock Weekly and a co-host on the Blues Rock Show.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender