Crow Black Chicken: Pariah Brothers Review

Crow Black Chicken is back with a new album Pariah Brothers that may be their best effort yet. Pariah Brothers is twelve greasy songs, packed into a barbeque joint of sound, washed down with a big red soda. Crow Black Chicken embodies the sound of the south.

That may also be why while they can easily be compared to bands like Lynyrd Skynyrd or Gov’t Mule as they also have a touch of folk mixed in with the blues driven licks. Maybe it’s the luck of the Irish or maybe it’s these boys’ immense talent, but they’ve managed to find a sound that’s all their own. In a world of cliché blues songs, these lads take what they want and leave the rest far behind.

Crow Black Chicken is Christy O Hanlon (Vocals Guitar) Stephen McGrath (Bass) and Gev Berrett (Drums and backing vocals) and they give new meaning to a powerhouse trio.

The album starts off with “Jonestown” followed by “Justice,” two heavy hitter bluesy numbers that get you in the mood for what’s to follow. The middle of the album takes a slight dip in energy mellowing out with “South Roman Street” and “The Prophet.” “Freedom” and “Pariah Brothers,” the album’s namesake, have a Jimi Hendrix quality in the vocals and even a little in the guitar.

The album as a whole is a perfectly designed smooth roller-coaster ride. The biggest hill is up front followed by plenty of dips and twists and by the time you get to the end the only thing you can think is “Let’s do it again.”

The Review: 8.5/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– Justice
– Jonestown
– South Roman Street
– Freedom
– The Prophet
– Pariah Brothers

The Big Hit

– Jonestown

Review by Jeremy Schantz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender