Queens of the Stone Age: …Like Clockwork Review

Queens of the Stone Age’s new album, …Like Clockwork, is absolutely thrilling. During the recording of their sixth studio album, the band was faced with many setbacks including bringing old members back in, assimilating a long list of guest appearances, and replacing long-time drummer Joey Castillo. Throughout the band’s career members have come and gone making Homme the only remaining original member. The current lineup consists of founder and lead guitarist Josh Homme, guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen (A Perfect Circle), keyboardist and multi instrumentalist Dean Fertita (The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather), bassist Michael Shuman, (Jubilee, Wires on Fire) and drummer Jon Theodore (The Mars Volta). …Like Clockwork hit number one on the US Billboard Top 200 and hit number two in the UK.

Opening track “Keep Your Eyes Peeled” is the first you hear from QOTSA after a six year absence. The breaking of glass introduces the falsetto of Homme’s voice in accompaniment with grungy sounds, making this track dark and intoxicating. “The Vampyre of Time and Memory” is a slow ballad. A low-key piano riff progresses over confessional lyrics. There’s even a “bluesy” guitar solo. Guest appearances of the ever so talented Sir Elton John, Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor, and two ex-QOTSA members Mark Lanegan and Nick Oliveri all appear on the track “Fairweather Friends.” John plays keys and vocals during this feel-good tune while the electric screeches in between vocals and piano. One day Homme received what he thought was a prank phone call. It was Sir Elton John wanting to collaborate. Elton stated that the only thing missing from the band was a queen. Homme responded with “Honey you have NO idea.” “Smooth Sailing” is another mind-blowing tune. This track’s raunchy, yet funky sound is infectious. The title track “…Like Clockwork” is slow and has dark lyrics: “…it’s all downhill from here”, “does anyone ever get this right?” The slide guitar solo accompanies his unsteady falsetto.

This is an album that sounds wonderful from beginning to end. It’s full of rock, blues, and grunge. Throughout the band’s history they’ve managed to maintain their signature sound despite so many changes in members. Sir Elton says he believes its probably the best rock album by any band in about five or six years.

The Review: 9.5/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– Keep Your Eyes Peeled
– The Vampyre of Time and Memory
– Fairweather Friends
– Smooth Sailing
– …Like Clockwork

The Big Hit

– Smooth Sailing

Review by Dana Ainsworth

2 thoughts on “Queens of the Stone Age: …Like Clockwork Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender