Ian Siegal and the Mississippi Mudbloods: Candy Store Kid Review

Candy Store Kid is the latest album from Ian Siegal & the Mississippi Mudbloods. It is to be released on October 15, 2012. The Mississippi Mudbloods are made up of Lightnin’ Malcom, Luther Dickinson, Garry Burnside, Cody Dickinson, and Alvin Youngblood Hart. Many of the songs also feature outstanding backup vocals by Stephanie Bolton, Sharisse Norman, and Shontelle Norman. The album provides a burst of refreshing sounds and each track has something unique to offer.

Siegal’s voice is a reflection of his rock influences while the music he sings is very much inspired by the blues. He puts his own spin on “Green Power” by Little Richard and kicks off the album with a fantastic cover of “Bayou Country” by Duke Bardwell. The original songs on the album shine just as brightly as the covers. “I Am The Train” is a great up-tempo blues tune that demonstrates Siegal’s skills as songwriter. Another stand out song on the album is “Hard Pressed (What Da Fuzz?)”. It’s a funky blues song with a modern spin.

As the title suggests, Candy Store Kid will make any blues lover feel like a kid in a candy store!

The Review: 7/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– Green Power
– Bayou Country
– I Am The Train
– Hard Pressed (What Da Fuzz?)

The Big Hit

– Bayou Country

Review by Liz Lohnes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender