Black Country Communion: 2 Review

Release Date: 6/14/11 J&R Adventures

2 is the second album from Anglo-American supergroup Black Country Communion, featuring Glenn Hughes, Joe Bonamassa, Jason Bonham, and Derek Sherinian. The album comes just 9 months after their self-titled debut. This might seem rushed to some, but the band actually had more time to work on 2 than the debut.

While no track on 2 quite meets the high standard set by the epic “Song of Yesterday,” every song is above average. Once again Glenn Hughes handles the lead vocals while Bonamassa takes the reigns on “The Battle for Hadrian’s Wall” and “An Ordinary Son.” One thing that can be said about 2 is it rocks hard.

The album begins with the single, “The Outsider,” which is classic rock at its best. Derek Sherinian really shines on the keys here as he has a much more prominent role on 2. He and Bonamassa go back and forth soloing and it is one of the highlights of the album.

Another highlight is “Save Me,” which Jason Bonham had originally been working on for Led Zeppelin with Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones. The song features a Zeppelin type riff and a beautiful intro from Sherinian in what is a dynamic performance all around from the band.

There is no sophomore slump here as 2 is a more consistent and complete album than the first. The group continues to push each other and that is evident. After two great albums in 9 months, it looks like Black Country Communion is here to stay as they are right at the forefront of a rock revival.

The Review: 9/10

Can’t Miss Tracks

– The Outsider
– The Battle for Hadrian’s Wall
– Save Me
– Faithless
– An Ordinary Son
– Cold

The Big Hit

– The Outsider

Pete Francis

Pete Francis is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of Blues Rock Review. Pete founded Blues Rock Review in 2010 because he felt there was a major void in how the blues rock genre was covered. Pete is the host of Blues Rock Weekly and a co-host on the Blues Rock Show.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bulk Email Sender