Listen: The Black Keys “Turn Blue”

The Black Keys are now streaming the title track from their upcoming album, Turn Blue.

Turn Blue will be released on May 13th and is available for pre-order on iTunes.

Jarekus Singleton: Refuse To Lose Review

Refuse To Lose

Jarekus Singleton is a young bluesman from the heart of the genre — Mississippi. In his latest release, Refuse To Lose, Singleton shows off his originality and knack for storytelling, his hip hop influences and his bass playing beginnings. The album has a truly classic feel, but is also fresh and invigorating with its soulful and funky roots and youthful inspiration.

Tommy Schneller: Cream of the Crop Review

Cream of the Crop

Tommy Schneller and company’s newest release is a nostalgic throw back to the days of horn sections and big band swagger.  As a native German speaker, he sings very well in English, and is well versed in the different styles of Blues and R & B.  The album, Cream of the Crop, is a wide mix of the genre’s and is crisply recorded, riding the line between familiar Americana and tasteful tribute.

Laurence Jones: Temptation Review


Following the success of his debut album, Thunder in the Sky, Laurence Jones has emerged with a new collection of fresh material. Released in February, Temptation avoids the clichés usually associated with a second album and instead showcases Jones as a strong artist with an arsenal of electrifying songs. On his first release for Ruf Records, Jones finds himself creating songs he feels are relatable for his audience. “I wanted people to see the meaning and the stories I’m getting across in these songs. You see a lot on tour and that’s great for songwriting, as I can share my experiences,” explains Jones. It’s clear Jones is searching for an interaction, or at least a reaction.

Lake Street Dive: Bad Self Portraits Review

Bad Self Portraits

If you’ve been keeping track of this year’s growing roster of fresh talent, odds are good the name Lake Street Dive will sound familiar. For those who have not yet been formally introduced, imagine you have the barstool view of a local joint’s evening talent. A three-piece band complete with a classic stand-up bass works the stage in a small smoky room as a fourth band member commands the mic. The music has a jazzy tempo, but it’s not jazz; the vocalist belts lyrics out like a veteran soul singer, but it’s not quite soul. The band’s exact classification is left to the listener to decide upon – as for the musicians of Lake Street Dive, they’re happy enough to sound as raw and free as any small-time band peddling dive bar districts.

Nick Moss Band: Time Ain’t Free Review

Time Ain't Free

Nick Moss is no stranger to the scene. The five Chicago artists (including Moss) combined to make The Nick Moss Band are both fan and blues icon favorites alike. Moss heads the group, playing guitar and vocals, but the Nick Moss Band also features Michael Ledbetter. Time Ain’t Free is the fifth album by the band, and they have quite large shoes to fill with it. Success has been common theme for the band, as they’ve been nominated for 16 Blues Music Awards.

Lady Flint: Lady Flint EP Review

Lady Flint

“Guitar.  Drums.  No Cheating.”  This is the description French duo Lady Flint offers of themselves, a simple and direct plea to the heart of the modern blues fan.  The drum-and-guitar outfit don’t stray far from their creed, and their debut EP – released in February of this year – shuns any studio “trickery” in favor of showcasing Lady Flint’s tight instrumentation.  The self-titled five-tracker is a smart, concise DIY recording ranging in feeling from aggressive (“Not A Wise Man”) to mournful (“The Last Time I Was Sober”) without losing edge.

California Breed: California Breed Review

California Breed

From from the ashes of Black Country Communion, California Breed is one mean rocking band that have formed and are set to release their debut self-titled album. With thoroughbred rock giants Glenn Hughes and Jason Bonham in the band, it already has the recipe for a big sound. Filling in the guitar slot is the young, but completely electrifying Andrew Watt.

Bulk Email Sender